fbpx
7 Tips for Writing the Most Helpful Book Reviews

I’m sure you guys know that book reviews can be extremely helpful to other readers and authors. Sometimes it can be hard to know what to say, though. How can you ensure that your book reviews are as helpful as they can be for all parties involved? I’ve got seven tips to help you do exactly that.

  1. Be Honest & Kind

    As an author, I always want readers’ honest thoughts on my stories, but I know I prefer it if they’re kind, too. If you don’t feel comfortable posting them because you feel they’re too harsh or might negatively impact the author you’re reviewing for, you can always try emailing them to the author to give them a chance to improve their work.


    Here are some things you can include in a review that would be helpful to other readers in determining if they would like the book. It might also help you know what kind of talking points make up a good review.

  2. Use Pop Culture Comparisons


    Generally, readers are fans of great storytelling in any medium, but especially TV, movies, comics/graphic novels (including webtoons), and games. If you know that people who love The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, Supernatural, Arrow, Nancy Drew, or The Vampire Diaries would love the book you’re reviewing, don’t hesitate to include that! That’s a super-helpful way for fans to find a book they know they’re going to love, and all thanks to your review.

  3. Use Author Comparisons


    Would you recommend the book to fans of another author? If so, which author? Those fans might not discover the book you’re reviewing if you don’t let them know to check it out. You can do this with something as simple as a single “perfect for fans of” sentence.


    Need an example? I think Rebecca Hamilton‘s books are perfect for fans of Gena Showalter.

  4. Define the Genre


    Genre is such an important thing to define in a book review. Some readers exclusively read select genres. Earmarking the genre so other readers who enjoy those kinds of books can find it is a great way to make sure your review is having the best impact it can have.

  5. Share Your Excitement


    Did you love the book? Are you looking forward to more work from this author or further books in the series? These are things other readers need to know (not to mention things authors love hearing)!

  6. Illuminate Emotions


    What emotions did the book evoke in you as you read it? Letting other readers know how the book made you feel is an excellent way to help them decide whether they want to read it or not.

  7. Frame Your Favorites


    Did you have a favorite character or two by the end of the book? If so, shout them from the rooftops so other readers can fall in love with them, too!

Honestly, your reviews can include anything and everything you want to share about the book, and they are always appreciated. Reviews are a gift to the entire book world, readers and authors alike. Leaving a review is an act of kindness that will never go unnoticed.